Cameroon misses out on IMF immediate debt relief plan

A total of nineteen African countries have been approved to benefit from International Monetary Fund (IMF) immediate debt relief. The measure by the IMF is to enable countries selected to channel their financial resources towards dealing with coronavirus pandemic.

The African countries include Burkina Faso, DR Congo, Benin, Guinea Bissau, The Gambia, Liberia Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe, Togo, Mozambique, Chad, Comoros, Guinea, Rwanda, Liberia and Niger.

According to the IMF, the debt cancellation and relief for African countries are measures called for by advocacy groups to assist some most vulnerable countries and permit them better address the pandemic.

Why Cameroon has been excluded on the list of beneficiaries remains the unanswered question.

The country is the second worst hit by COVID-19 in sub Saharan Africa. Cameroon critics say has equally demonstrated her financial difficulties by allocating just 1 billion francs Cfa to tackle the virus.

To others, the complete absence of President Paul Biya on the front line to fight against coronavirus seems to have portrayed Cameroon’s little concern in addressing the deadly pandemic.

There are several questions in the air begging for answers on how Cameroon will effectively deal with a war for separation, Boko Haram insurgency, the tussle for legitimate leadership and coronavirus.

Mimi Mefo Info.

+(237) 6791 35573 Donate

Related Articles

Back to top button